Sabah Advisory
Tuesday, March 17, 2020


Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, all tourism related events have been either cancelled or postponed until further notice.

Please read our latest updates on the COVID-19 here.

We hope to welcome all visitors back to Sabah as soon as possible. In the meantime, we extend well wishes to each and everyone of you and advice to collaboratively play a role in combating the spread of COVID-19. We hope for a speedy recovery for those affected.


The Malaysian Government has designated the entire eastern portion of Sabah (extending from the town of Kudat in northern Sabah to Tawau district near the border of Indonesia) as the Eastern Sabah Security Zone and established the Eastern Sabah Security Command (ESSCOM) to coordinate security forces’ activity. Security forces are stationed on the islands with resorts. Curfew hours between 7 pm to 5 am up to three nautical miles offshore is put in place by ESSCOM. Malaysia, the Philippines, and Indonesia have formed a trilateral committee on this.

Currently, the Malaysian government has enhanced the efforts for patrolling our maritime border and are in constant contact with counterparts in the Philippines. Dusk to dawn curfew is strictly enforced on the sea to ensure the safety of tourists and divers.

These intrusion preventive measures are welcomed by all Malaysians and people of Sabah, to ensure safety and security for all Malaysians and visitors.


We advise all visitors to engage services from licensed agents. The list of agents can be referred to from MOTAC or MATTA.