The Sabah Tourism Board, or generally known as Sabah Tourism, is an agency of the Sabah State Government operating under the purview of the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Environment. Sabah Tourism’s primary responsibility is the marketing and promotion of tourism for the State.

Tourism is Sabah’s third largest and one of the important income generating sectors which supports more than 80,000 jobs. Striving to ensure that tourism remains an important economic pillar, Sabah Tourism, continues to promote and market Sabah as a world-class premier eco tourism destination.

In the effort of promoting Sabah and in ensuring the success and sustainable growth of the sector, Sabah Tourism is working closely with industry players. The continued effort of Sabah Tourism, with the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Environment and industry players, directly contributes to the overall development of the tourism sector on both national and international scale.

Since it was established in August 1976, Sabah Tourism’s responsibilities have continually expanded and defined to cater to the current needs of the global tourism market.

Today Sabah Tourism constitutes seven divisions: Digital & Communications, Research, MICE, Marketing, Product , Finance & Corporate Services and Internal Audit.

Sabah Tourism’s wholly owned subsidiary Sri Pelancongan Sabah Sdn Bhd (SPS), supplements and complements the efforts of Sabah Tourism by working closely with the tourism industry in event management, publicity and publication as well as supply and sale of local handicrafts.

Sabah Tourism has Tourist Information Centre at their office located at No. 51 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu. The Sabah Tourism Board and Sri Pelancongan operation hours are as follows:

Sabah Tourism Operation Hours:

Sri Pelancongan Operation Hours:


To market position SABAH, Malaysian Borneo as the premier nature adventure destination in the world.


To form smart partnership with tourism stakeholders towards adopting and complying with best industry practices in order to achieve sustainable economic development and environmental integrity.

Last reviewed: June 11, 2021